How to keep warm on cold nights?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to keep warm on cold nights?

Ok first off I'm new here, and I'm actually new to camping in general as an adult. I use to do it once and awhile as a kid, but not for at least 10 years. My girlfriend and I are going camping at Lake Roosevelt in Arizona the 2nd week of November. It will be Me, Her, and 3 dogs (1 Great Dane, 1 American Bulldog, and 1 Queensland Heeler... so all pretty big). Because one of the dogs will have to be in a kennel, and planning for the future when my 2 daughters go camping with us, we bought a big 10 person tent, thinking it would be better. We have the Coleman Canyon Breeze 19x12. My concern is keeping us warm at night? I need all the tips and help you can give me. We will be using an air mattress to keep us off the ground, but I need to know what else to do. Nights get to be in the 30's this time of year and up in the mid 70's during the day. Any help would be great. I know a smaller tent would have helped keep us warmer, but unfortunately I didn't purchase it, someone else did. And like I said we were planning for the future with 4 humans and 3 dogs.

Re: How to keep warm on cold nights?

Warm sleeping bags? They all have temperatures for comfort using on them.

Comment

I haven't used air mattresses for a long time;
      ...bring a powered inflator; and a patch kit; dog claws and very young kids are really hard on air mattresses, IMO.
      Throw something down to keep an air mattress off the ground and help resist punctures.
      Insulate the sleeping bags from the mattress (well washed, fluffy, moving pads/blankets worked well for me) old blankets etc work. Toward the end of my air mattress period I was using a Ridgerest and a foam pad to let me sleep through a loss of air.