Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to this!

Hey guys,

I'm new to this whole forum thing and I'm also new to camping. I'm planning a trip out to Oregon, California, and Arizona and I will essentially be backpacking through all three states. I'll be bringing my bicycle with me and I will use some public transportation to get around. I want to get some advice/tips/information on what kind of backpack to have, what kind of tent/sleeping bag, ideas to get in shape between now and March of 2017, what to bring, where to camp, costs, etcetera, etcetera. Any help would be greatly appreciated! Keep in mind that I will be on a bicycle a lot of the time, so I don't want to be traveling with a terribly heavy load. Thanks and I hope to hear from all of you beautiful people! Stay groovy.

Re: New to this!

sounds like a great trip
    and have lots of time before march 2017 to get ready,
    there are lots of variables to consider
    if your biking it, personally would load up the bike with saddle bags, let the bike carry the load, not you
    for where to camp, map it out and see where your going through, would probably best to mix up organized campgrounds with backwoods primitive camping,
    for backwoods, primitive camping i would check local regs in each state to see where you can camp without a permit, also check fire regs if you plan on cooking some meals,
    you would also need to know what kind of distance you can reasonably cover fully loaded, tired, hungry, etc.. to get to the next spot,
    since you have lots of time, i would do some trial runs locally and camp out to get an idea of what you need,
    may realize sleeping on the floor sucks and want to invest in a good pad, things like wont know till you try it.
    hope to hear more from you on this

Comment