Michigan Spring Camping

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Michigan Spring Camping

Hello, I'm new to this forum, and in need of some help. This seemed like a good place to go, with over 2000 members and all.

I'm not "new" to camping. I first started camping two summers ago, when I went to Warren Dunes State Park with a bunch of friends (15+), spent 4 days there (yes, in tents). It was great fun, and did the same thing last summer, and are planning on it again this summer.

My current problem is this Spring Break, late February to early March (I'm a college student), I'm looking to take a short trip around Michigan, mainly Silver Lake, Traverse City, Petosky, and Chayboygan/Mackinaw with a few friends. We were planning on camping to save money/it's more fun, but all Michigan State Parks are closed until April. So I've been looking for non-State Parks open in March, but so far have been unsuccessful. I've spent the past hour Google searching, without much result, and I even searched this site before posting, but still couldn't find an answer.

Does anyone know of any campgrounds or places to pitch a tent around those locations, this early in the year. Or even a website that might have such a list? Or is this simply not a reality?

Thank you in advance.

Re: Michigan Spring Camping

Your last sentence is really an answer. Not too many campateers here from the northern plains. Keep searching, though you might strike pay-dirt. If you do, post up how your camping trip went, it'll entice more from Michigan to sign up! Thanks for asking and you just never know, someone could find the answers you seek and they haven't chimed in yet!
    Get campin', Renodesertfox A canvas campateer
    Campin' Here Between Campouts! Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult

Comment